I am not the man I used to be;

truthfully, I’m not that far removed.

In a sparring mood;

shadowboxing with the enemy within.

Teaching my mind to go southpaw; when facing my heart.

I bob-and-weave through the dark; throwing jabs at the light.

Equally adept with the left and the right.

Angelic and Demonic; teetering on the brink of the dark and the light.

Battling my past to conquer the present and declare my future;

the struggle of my life.

 

The champion and the contender;

I’m talking about the man and the mirror.

Learned how to walk without sight; my vision’s more clearer.

An old man stated “learn to speak in silence”; he said a mouth full.

Enter all actions with boldness; don’t move if you’re doubtful.

The cup is half empty, the cup is half full;

it’s all about perception.

 

I am not the man I used to be; thanks to my life, my lessons.

Give thanks and praise; for my strife, my blessings.

I’m not the man I used to be; thanks to the people I meet,

thanks to the books I read.

Indeed, I am not the man I used to be;

new experiences, chartering new directions.

I am not the man I used to be;

live life, love lessons.

 

#steviestreets

