Can the black family be repaired?
I think as I’m sitting here:
“Momma didn’t really care.
Poppa wasn’t even there.”

Can the black family be repaired?
I think but I don’t know what to say to you.
“What’s family?
Some niggas I’m related to?
Some women that will pray for you?”

Can the black family be repaired?
My nostalgic ways paint a collage of beautiful women, strong black gentlemen, and loving children.

Can the black family be repaired?
In my project maze I seen abused black women, broken black men, and lost children.

Can the black family be repaired?
Does anyone care?
Is it possible?
I’ve seen sisters living off of welfare.
I’ve seen brothers living in the bottle.

Can the black family be repaired?
I’ve seen how James was a father to JJ, Thelma, and Michael.
I’ve seen young Kings attempt to break the cycle.

Can the black family be repaired?
I’ve seen men reconstruct a cigar to get high…
but they can’t tie a necktie.

Can the black family be repaired?
I’ve seen men who watched their Father go to work 3 jobs…
but they don’t work, they just freeload and rob.

Can the black family be repaired?
I know the odds are insurmountable.
I hold myself accountable.

Can the black family be repaired?
I don’t know but I’ve seen black families overcome despair.

Can the black family be repaired?
I don’t know but I’ll tell you when I get there.
Yeah; tell you when I get there!
Until then; salute the single black Mothers!
Encourage the young black Brothers.

-Stevie | #‎codeofthestreets‬

