She doesn’t watch Empire

She’s building an Empire

 

THOT’S be scandalous

Women be Scandal-less

 

She doesn’t watch that Scandal ish

She’d rather teach a man to fish

 

We talk about good books

She tells me to read the Good Book

 

She’s beautiful and respectable

Her character’s impeccable

 

In a world of false prophets and fake hair

She’s a breath of fresh air

 

I know sometimes she feels alone out there

I wrote this poem to let her you know I care

 

When I look into her eyes, I see love and I see fear

I wrote this poem to let her know she is not alone out there

 

I had to take a moment to honor a beautiful & brilliant black woman out there

I wrote this to pay homage and let her know her black man cares

 

I know no one is perfect, I know no one is free from sin

I had to take a moment to say: Thank you to all the beautiful & brilliant black women

 

We must: Respect Black Womanhood

We must: Protect Black Womanhood

 

I will not forget the injustices that occurred to black women in history

I will not forget the accomplishments achieved by black women in history

 

We must be mindful of the images and the roles that portray black women

We must be mindful not to disgrace or degrade black women

 

We must: Respect Black Womanhood

We must: Protect Black Womanhood

 

I wrote this for the black matriarchs

I wrote this for the black women that hold the family together

While every black man she knows is tearing at her heart

 

I wrote this for the black women that educate the youth

I wrote this for the black mothers that look at their sons

Wishing their black skin was bulletproof

 

I wrote this for the young black girl that does not know she can’t be successful

I wrote this for the black woman that dared to be what they said she could not

This is for the old black women that hummed hymns, this is for the old black women that made salaat

You know the ones that paved the way for the black women of today to be successful

 

We must: Respect Black Womanhood

We must: Protect Black Womanhood

 

I wrote this for the black women that love the skin they’re in

I wrote this for the black women with naturals

You know the ones that if mention perm or relaxer they look at you

Like you just committed a cardinal sin

 

I wrote this for the black women with kinky hair

I wrote this for the black hairstylist promoting healthy hair

I wrote this for the black women that take their daughters to the Natural Hair Shows every year

 

I wrote this for the black single mothers raising daughters; without welfare

I wrote this for Harriet Tubman, Fannie Jackson Coppin, and Angela Davis

This is for the unsung beautiful & brilliant black women of all ages

I wrote this for the black fathers that spend time with their daughters; it’s essential to be there

 

I wrote this for the black families that teach their daughters the value of keeping covered

I wrote this for the black families that teach their sons to treat women with the reverence of sisters and mothers

 

We must: Project Black Women

We must not: Neglect Black Women

We must: Invest In Black Women

We must not: Detest Black Women

We must: Respect Black Women

We must not: Molest Black Women

We must: Protect Black Women

 

I  wrote this because we must Respect Black Women physically

I wrote this because we must Respect Black Women mentally

I wrote this because we must Respect Black Women spiritually

 

I wrote this because we must Protect Black Women physically

I wrote this because we must Protect Black Women mentally

I wrote this because we must Protect Black Women spiritually

 

We must: Respect Black Womenhood as a whole

We must: Respect Black Womanhood; mind, body, and soul

 

We must: Protect Black Womenhood as a whole

We must: Protect Black Womanhood; mind, body, and soul

 

I wrote this because we must Respect Black Womanhood

I wrote this because we must Protect Black Womanhood

 

@StevieStreets | #ProtectBlackWomanhood

